Kiltepan Peak: Of Selfies and Sunrise

3 May 2017 | Tuesday

At 4 AM, I heard noises. The other guests who were going to Kiltepan Peak seem to be excited and were already preparing. At 4:20, I prepared and went down to join them.

There, I met Christine. She’s a traveler from Nueva Ecija who looked pretty young. After waiting for a couple of minutes for the shuttle that’s running late, I decided to walk.

IMG_1730

And so the walking started. Darkness enveloped the freezing air. Alex Turner kept me company followed by Ben Howard. Once in a while, I saw vans passing.

“Going to Kiltepan Peak, for sure.”

I counted.

One. Two. Three.

“Petron 1 kilometer away.”

Four. Five.

Rock Inn just showed up in my view.

Six. Seven.

5oo meters more.

Then I stopped.

I was filled by intense joy I couldn’t contain it any longer.

“Thank you, Lord !” I was elated.

I was about to ascend the grassy trail leading to the viewpoint when our shuttle and Kuya Awing arrived.

“Ang bilis niyo ate maglakad !” Christine commented with amazement written all over her face.

We arrived at the viewpoint. 12 cars are parked. I counted. It was 5 in the morning.

IMG_1742

People were scattered everywhere. Selfie sticks, phones and cameras were out. I waited.

5:30 am, the sun started to rise, but people were still taking selfies. I got pissed.

I mean, come on ! At some point this has to stop ! Sure, they can take 5 selfies, 10 photos, 20 photos maximum… But to TAKE PHOTOS THE ENTIRE TIME ? That’s crazy.

I looked around, there were lots of couples. One couple was taking selfies but in the midst of selfie-taking, they started arguing ! Of what, I will never know.

Christine and her “friend” were also taking photos, they look cute together.

Then, for a reason I don’t remember now, we ended up talking about them.

The guy is leaving for college in Australia this July.

“See Ate, that’s why I can’t really tell our situation… He’s leaving”. 

I saw pain in her eyes. I felt her pain. But surprisingly, I found myself replying.

“Tiwala lang. That’s commitment. Magtiwala ka sa taong mahal mo.”

Even Christine was shocked.

But I told the guy: “Pero ikaw din kuya, ipadama mo rin sa kanya na mahalaga siya kahit malayo ka. Bumisita ka kahit every six months. 2 years ? Mabilis lang yan !”

The couple who were arguing a while ago seemed to be okay now, they’re taking selfies again.

IMG_1763

We waited for the sun to fully rise then after, I bid goodbye.

“I will walk ulit pabalik”.

I wanted to relish this moment. True enough, the whole space was surreal. I was inside the woods, inside Mother Nature’s womb, it was there that I saw tall pine trees, sun rays seducing, I heard birds chirping, stones crashing beneath my sole/soul.

I reached the hi-way when guests who were also staying in Misty offered me a ride. We talked, shared stories and discovered we’ve got common friends !

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh the wonders this place hold.


Let me know your thoughts...Don't be shy!