Peak Experience

A week ago I reported Abraham Maslow in my Human Behavior & Social Change class. Though his concept is banal for psychologists and laymen alike, it is still wonderful to think that the entire session gave me a deeper appreciation of our “needs” and our pursuit of “self-actualization”.

I’d like to share one area in his concept that blew me away.

Peak experiences. The feeling of being. The transient moments of self-actualization. Total discharge. Catharsis. Climax. Consummation.

It’s the first star at dusk. The overwhelming beauty of the skies in the middle of nowhere. The rain after months of drought. The bloom of flowers in the spring. Two rainbows in the horizon. This is what a father feels when he sees his daughter in her wedding dress. A mother holding her first-born baby. A favorite song played at the right time.

The beautiful feeling of oneness. Of surrender. Of true love.

Think of your peak experiences and how it made you feel.

I hope it made you feel alive.


Let me know your thoughts...Don't be shy!