Wanna Be Happy? Wake Up Early!

Originally published on Mogul, an online platform for women worldwide

Believe it or not, I am a chronic late riser. On my free days, I could spend 14 hours of my time sleeping, waking up at 11 in the morning or even as late as 2 in the afternoon if laziness hit me real bad. It didn’t matter before, I often convinced myself I deserve it because of all the things I was doing and this is the only time I could really breathe and relax. You see, like most of us, I am also a yuppie who’s trying to juggle work, life and everything in between.

However recently, I felt a strong desire to change my lifestyle. That’s why I’ve decided to start my “28 days habit” by looking at the areas in my life which needs overhauling.

One of the obvious ones is my tendency to oversleep and miss the glorious morning the world has to offer. I noticed that my anxiety peaks in the morning; when I consistently press snooze until I realized I’m already running late which then puts me in a rush – I don’t get to eat breakfast, I get even more pissed off when traffic’s horrible and I arrive in the office exhausted even before I start my “work day”.

As part of the “28 days habit” project, I promised myself I will wake up at 5:30 in the morning everyday, for 28 days, until it becomes a habit. I tell you, it’s difficult, but so far, it’s working. I’ve never felt this energized and happy my entire life.

There are millions of reason why waking up early gives you a good probability of being happy. Let me share with you 5 reasons why it works for me.

1. It gives you time to nourish your spiritImage Source: returnyoga.org   Image Source: returnyoga.org

Mornings are always the best time to reflect. Imagine this: You wake up very early and the only noise you could hear is perhaps the rooster crowing (If you’re living in the Philippines like I do) or the bells chiming in a nearby church or the mosque reciting the morning prayer; no people yelling, no cars honking, no neighbors playing loud music, no external distractions i.e. emails, calls, appointments. This is the most peaceful moment of the day where you can embrace quietude and serenity. It’s the time when you can be alone with yourself and reflect about what you will do today. It’s the perfect time to be grateful, to map out your day, to know your day’s goal.

You could start asking yourself about the following questions:  “What can I do today that will make myself and others happy?”, “What can I do today to fulfill my life’s purpose?”, “What are the things I am thankful for this morning?”. These will guide you on your day and will condition you to be a better, productive and happy individual. You could write it down, you could pray, or you could just enjoy the silence of the morning. BUT! Do it outside of the bed (or your room) to make sure you will not go back to sleep because your fluffy bed tempted you. Go somewhere quiet and comfortable. Stay in your lawn, walk around your neighborhood. Go somewhere convenient for meditation and reflection.

2. It gives you time to nourish your bodyImage title    Image Source: https://www.indialive.today.com

I recently signed up for Yoga classes near my work to make sure I get to wake up early all the time. It’s been weeks since I started but I can already tell the change in my overall wellness and mood.I now feel more energized and refreshed, I seldom get drowsy in the afternoon and my mind’s clearer and sharper which makes it easy for me to complete my day’s tasks.

Exercising in general can help you kickstart your day. Choose whatever form of exercise works for you. Try researching for a nearby gym in your office so it’s easy to travel, sign up for the Pilates classes you’ve been always eyeing on but never really acted on it. Hit the gym, try boxing or even Crossfit if you feel strong and motivated. Try swimming every morning or aerobics if you feel giddy. Whatever works for you, your body and your current lifestyle is good. Sometimes, you just really have to do it.

3. It gives you time to nourish your mindImage title     Image Source: http://www.dareoutloud.com

Have you ever tried reading a chapter of a good book in the morning? Or reading a newspaper while sipping a cup of your favorite tea? Your brain is a hungry little bugger and it needs constant vitamins. Feeding it every morning with prose and stories from intellects and thinkers alike will make it even sharper and wiser. It will enhance your critical thinking skills, it will deepen your love for literature and it will get your brain cells moving; making you a wiser, more knowing person than you were yesterday. That’s why I love it when I have enough time to dive deep into the world of my current book. I am somehow addicted to its texture, its scent and its creases. It makes me feel connected.

Instead of spending your morning on your laptops or cellphones, why not try to dust off the book you’ve been reading for months now and read it every morning, one chapter at a time. Pretty soon you will realize how easy it is to finish a book and you will crave for more. And yes, drop your smartphones, too. You should know by now that books are way smarter than them.

4. It gives you time to nourish your relationshipsImage title Image Source: http://www.joelchapmanphotography.com/

Breakfast is the most essential meal of the day. Why not spend it with the ones you love?

As I have confessed in the beginning of this post, I don’t usually take breakfasts because it’s too time consuming and I don’t have the luxury of time to prepare one, most of the time I just grab some bread or coffee and devour it on my way to work. But since I started my “28 days habit” project, I make sure I prepare breakfasts every morning before leaving the house. The routine’s quite simple: I go to the kitchen, play some soft jazzy music, brew coffee, and cook an egg or two. Sometimes there’s pancake or bread but coffee is the staple one. Then I wait for my parents (or sometimes my siblings) and we eat breakfast while having a conversation. It’s an opportunity for all of us to get to know one another better, to share stories, to feel each other’s presence. Of course, sometimes it doesn’t happen because of different schedules but still, it strengthens my relationship with my family through a simple act of service.

Try it with your family or partner, but better if you do prepare it together. You could also try encouraging a partner or a loved one to do #2 with you and head to your favorite breakfast place afterwards and enjoy each other’s company. Not only will you make your body full, it will also make your hearts fuller and your relationship stronger.

5. It is a time to appreciate God’s creationImage titleImage Source: https://creamcoffee22.files.wordpress.com

It was a morning like other mornings and yet perfect among mornings” -John Steinbeck, The Pearl

The best morning is when sunshine breaks the darkness of my bedroom. I love it when it literally hits my face and I just couldn’t help but smile because, once again, another morning has arrived for me to be grateful that I am still alive and that I still have a chance to witness life’s miracle and creation. Even when I travel, I don’t miss a sunrise if given a chance. I watch the light breaks in the horizon; when black turns to blue; blue slowly gets lighter and lighter, giving way for a red hue to appear. Next thing you know the sun is already up, shining its brightest yellow to every creation. This is the time to pause and appreciate and thank God for such a wonderful masterpiece. It carries a lot of wonderful meanings and brings a lot of good vibes.

Try waking up in the morning and observe the world around you; the stillness of the street, the smell of the eggs being cooked by your neighbor, the shops opening up, people doing the same thing as you do. Smile at them, smile at the heavens, and thank God for your existence.

Now you can truly say how wonderful it is to wake up early in the morning.


Let me know your thoughts...Don't be shy!