Danum: A Story of Faith

I was on a cliff waiting for the sun to set and enjoying the presence of nature and strangers. A local lit a bonfire to give warmth to the already chilly dusk and I approached it. So was Joaquin.

We were there, standing side by side and staring at the burning pine twigs, hands outstretched, when Joaquin suddenly spoke.

“Do you have a match?” He asked.

“A match?” I repeated. I checked my pocket, I only have a lighter.

“Why do you need a match?” I asked.

“Well, how did you make this fire? You need a match to light a fire”

My friend was about to answer that it was the local who did it and he has a match when I interrupted.

“We prayed”. I said, smiling at him.

“But you can’t make a fire through prayer”. He’s now laughing at me.

I looked at him, straight in the eye and said: “When you pray with all your heart and mind, everything is possible”.

He was staring back at me, silent. He then went on putting more twigs and the fire grew stronger.

“You see, prayer with action, will make everything possible”. I said again, hoping he will believe me this time.

The fire even grew stronger as if agreeing to what I just said.

I saw Joaquin’s father watching us, hearing our small conversation.

Joaquin! The father shouted.

“Come back here and don’t play with fire.”

Suddenly, Joaquin shouted, his face filled with joy and satisfaction.

I PRAYED! He said.

The fire crackled merrily and the horizon was filled with crimson hue of sunset.

 


One thought on “Danum: A Story of Faith

Let me know your thoughts...Don't be shy!